Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is usually dreaded by any restaurant veteran.  It’s a day where all sorts of people who don’t normally go out to eat break with tradition and splurge on a special meal for their mums. And because of the masses of people thronging all the restaurants in the world and having such high expectations of their experience it creates an atmosphere somewhat similar to what would happen if a prom night shift and a post church Sunday afternoon shift got together and dry humped in the walk-in and had a huge monster baby shift.

But this year is different for me.

This year my best friend became a mommy and in the process I became a father.

Mama Bear I hope you know how proud and happy for you I am. For us I guess. But especially for you. I know how much having a kid meant to you and I am so very happy that you finally got to be a Mommy. Sure it was a little scary there for a minute but you really pulled through it and did such a good job. You make beautiful babies by the way. Our little Baby Bear is such a cute little guy I often find myself showing pictures of him on my phone to my tables (even if I don’t know them, which is often the case).  There is no doubt in my mind that you will be the very best mother ever. Baby Bear really lucked up in the Mommy department.                                                                                                           

This year instead of being bothered by the crappy Mother’s Day tips or the increased stress I will be focused on how awesome it is that my kid has such a good mother and how blessed I am to have such a good partner in life.

And Grandma Bear I can’t tell enough how much I love how much you love your grandson. Your grandparental enthusiasm is a wonder and a joy to behold and I really don’t know the words to properly convey to you how thankful I am for it. My grandmother was my all time favorite family member ever. We were very close and she taught me lot. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about her. I’m glad that my kid will also have a very close relationship with his grandmother. Baby Bear really lucked up in the Grandma department, too.

To all the mommies out there that have to work a shift on Mother’s Day, to the soon-to-be mommies six months pregnant who have to deal with the public and run food and carry trays and to all the mommies out there in general: I hope your day goes well and is filled with love. Happy Mother’s Day!

Dignity and Respect

Me, The JerBear                                                                                 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mother’s Day

  1. What a sweet and loving post Papa Bear. Baby Bear is a lucky lil’ guy. Congratulations to you both and Happy Mother’s Day to Mama Bear. 🙂 So lovely.

    [PS loved the analogy about what Mother’s Day is in a restaurant – so spot on!]

    • Aww skippymom how could I forget you? Happy belated (but no less meaningful or heartfelt because of it) Mother’s Day! Your insights and opinions are very much appreciated on this little corner of the internet.

      Love ya, lady:)

  2. Awww, I feel so loved. And, so lucky to have such a loving, thoughtful partner. Baby Bear and I are VERY LUCKY! And, we appreciate everything you do for us. You have a way with words Papa Bear.
    Much love!

    • Yeah I can’t wait for the little guy to start talking. What a time we will have explaining the definitions of all those ‘fancy’ words he will hear.

      I’m glad I finally got you to comment on one of my posts, MamaBear! From now on I think ALL of my posts will be about you. Good things of course. My readership might fall down to one person but so long as that one person is you it will be worth doing.:)

Leave a Reply

